What Is Trash On Facebook?

While using a computer or laptop, you may have come across deleting some files. When we delete specific files, they go to the recycle bin until we permanently delete them. Almost similar to this, while using Facebook, we sometimes delete our photos, videos, or posts. These deleted posts, photos, or videos become trash. Simply put, trash on Facebook is a temporary storage location for content you have deleted from your profile or pages. When you move content to the trash, it is not immediately deleted from Facebook; it is kept there for 30 days. But unlike computer files, which we have to permanently delete from the recycle bin, the trash on Facebook is automatically permanently deleted after 30 days. You can get your trash content back if you decide otherwise during these 30 days.

How Do You Access Trash On Facebook On A Mobile Phone?

Recycle bins on computers make it simple to locate deleted files. However, finding deleted posts, photos, or videos is not as simple as locating them on a computer. That’s why, below, we have explained the method of locating trash on Facebook in some easy steps.

  1. In the first step, open your Facebook app and log in with Facebook credentials.
  2. Then, on the right-hand side of your mobile screen, tap on the three horizontal lines.
  3. Thirdly, tap on “Settings and Privacy” and then tap “Settings.”
  4. Scroll down and tap “Activity log.”
  5. On the lower side of your screen, tap “View Activity History.”
  6. Then, click on the “Recycle Bin” button.
  7. Here, you’ll be able to view every deleted file.
  8. If you want to restore any of your posts, tap on the three vertical dots in front of that post.
  9. Now, tap “Restore to profile.”

That’s how it is done on mobile.

How Can I Access Trash On Facebook On A Computer Device?

To access trash on Facebook while using a computer, search for facebook.com on any search browser and then log in to your Facebook account. On your screen, tap on your name on the left side. Once your profile page is open, tap three horizontal dots. From here, go to “Activity log.” It will open a new window, and you will see a trash icon on the left side of this window. Now, you can remove any post from the trash box.

Can We Delete Posts From The Trash Box Before 30 Days?

Sometimes, when we delete posts from Facebook, we also want to remove them from the trash permanently. However, as previously discussed, trashed posts are automatically deleted after 30 days. Can we delete posts from the trash before 30 days? Yes, we can.

Go to your Facebook profile and follow the above mentioned steps until step 5. Then, choose the post you want to delete. Next, choose Delete by tapping the three dots to the right of that post.

FAQS

Do the messages we delete also go to the trash?

Yes, the messages we delete also go to the trash folder. To restore your deleted messages, open your messenger and click on the More button, then tap on Archived Chats. Now, scroll down and tap Trash. Find the messages you want to restore, and click on Restore.

Can we restore the posts we deleted after 30 days?

No, restoring the posts we deleted after 30 days is impossible. The posts in the trash are automatically deleted after 30 days. If you want to restore your content, you must do it within 30 days.

Can I recover content that I accidentally deleted from Trash?

No, once content is deleted from Trash, it is permanently deleted and can not be recovered.

What happens to the content in the trash if I delete my Facebook account?

All the content in the trash will also be permanently deleted once you delete your Facebook profile.

Is it possible to share content from trash with others?

No, it is not possible to share content from trash with others. If you want to share content from trash with others, you must restore it to your profile or pages.

Conclusion

To conclude, deleting content on Facebook goes to the trash. The content stays there for 30 days; after 30 days, the deleted content is automatically permanently deleted from the trash. If you change your mind within 30 days, you can recover the content from the trash by following the steps mentioned above.

Share your Love
Lyra Wilson
Lyra Wilson

Hey, I'm Lyra Wilson. I'm a digital marketer and a writer with the concept of "Content is King". I love to talk about the digital transformation of businesses and how the advertising world has upgraded from conventional methods to digital platforms. I'm here to solve common problems that content creators face on different platforms.

Articles: 84